Meet The Man Booker International Prize 2015 Finalists

Ten writers are on the judges’ list of finalists under serious consideration for the sixth Man Booker International Prize

Photo by: Reuters
Photo by: Reuters

Updated Jul 28, 2015

The authors on the Man Booker International shorlist come from ten different countries with six new nationalities included for the first time. .They are from Libya, Mozambique, Guadeloupe, Hungary, South Africa and the Congo.

The Man Booker International exists in relation to its older sibling the Man Booker. The winner will get a £60,000 award for his or her achievement in fiction.

The Man Booker International Prize is awarded every two years to a living author who has published fiction either originally in English or whose work is generally available in translation in the English language.

None of the writers on the shortlist has appeared on a previous Man Booker International Prize list of finalists.

The proportion of writers translated into English is greater than ever before at 80 percent.
The ten authors on the list are:

César Aira - Argentina
Hoda Barakat - Lebanon
Maryse Condé - Guadeloupe
Mia Couto - Mozambique
Amitav Ghosh - India
Fanny Howe - United States of America
Ibrahim al-Koni - Libya
László Krasznahorkai - Hungary
Alain Mabanckou - Republic of Congo
Marlene van Niekerk - South Africa
The Man Booker International Prize 2015 winner will be revealed Tuesday 19 May 2015.

TRTWorld and agencies