Russia issues 89-name EU blacklist

Russia issues blacklist of 89 European Union politicians barring them from entry into country

Photo by: AA
Photo by: AA

Updated Jul 28, 2015

Moscow issued a blacklist reportedly containing names of 89 European Union politicians on Thursday barred from Russia in response to EU’s own sanctions over Crimea and Ukraine.

‘’Russia yesterday handed over a list of people to diverse EU embassies who may not enter Russia any longer,’’ said Dutch Prime Minister Mark Rutte at a press conference on Friday (May 29). He added that two Dutch MPs and a Dutch MEP are on the list.

According to a letter from Belgian Foreign Minister Didier Reynders tweeted by Belgian MEP Mark Demesmaeker, 89 names rank in the list.

The letter was confirmed by the foreign ministry to AFP.

Moscow issued the list on Thursday in response to the EU's own sanctions and travel bans over Russia's annexation of Crimea last year and its alleged involvement in the eastern Ukraine conflict, Rutte said.

"We take note that the Russian authorities have decided to share the list. We don't have any other information on legal basis, criteria and process," said a spokeswoman for the EU diplomatic service in Brussels to AFP. She said several European politicians were barred by Russia from entry in recent months.

An insurgency erupted in eastern Ukraine following a pro-Kremlin president’s deposal in February 2014. The fighting has claimed more than 6,300 lives so far. Russian President Vladimir Putin denies backing the insurgency.


TRTWorld and agencies