Apple to launch iPhone 6S, iPad Pro and overhauled Apple TV

Apple launching new products on Wednesday at annual event, focusing less on new smartphones and more on other products

Photo by: AA
Photo by: AA

Apple revealed new versions of old products on Wednesday, including the iPhone 6S, Apple TV - with a screen measuring 32.8 centimeters diagonally - and a large, redesigned, iPad Pro that includes a keyboard.

The company spent much of the time at the Bill Graham Civic Auditorium in downtown San Francisco talking about products that were not the new iPhone. Apple chief executive Tim Cook addressed several additions to the Apple Watch wearable, including a version of Facebook Messenger. Following that brief update, Cook introduced the world to the new iPad Pro, which straddles the line between tablet and laptop like nothing Apple has previously released.

"iPad is the clearest expression of our vision of the future of personal computing," Cook told the crowd, adding that the model is "the biggest news in iPad since iPad."

With a huge screen, an optional keyboard and a stylus named Apple Pencil, the iPad Pro is clearly flirting with the business market. Phil Schiller, senior vice president of worldwide marketing at Apple, claimed the iPad Pro worked 80 percent faster than most personal computers and had a battery life of 10 hours.

Apple also introduced a revamped Apple TV product that includes the company’s popular digital assistant, Siri. The remote-controlled set-top box uses a whole new library of apps, including well-known services like Netflix and Hulu. Apple appears set to make Apple TV essentially a new videogame console, so many of the apps are focused on gaming.

“The future of television is apps,” Cook proclaimed.

With a similar design to last year’s crop, the iPhone 6S and iPhone 6S Plus use Apple’s new “3D Touch” technology, which senses different pressures on the screen. The new phones are also faster and boast a better camera.

The new iPhones will be available Sept. 25 in Australia, Canada, China, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Japan, New Zealand, Puerto Rico, Singapore, the United Kingdom and the US.