Czech police attacked in northern Kosovo

Vehicles of four Czech police officers shot in Kosovo

Photo by: Reuters
Photo by: Reuters

Updated Jul 28, 2015

Four Czech and one German police officers of the Kosovo Supplementary Police Force have been attacked by an unidentified gunman in northern Kosovo.

On Monday, the spokeswoman Jana Macalikova from Czech Police presidium said the assailant used a small-caliber gun to shoot twice at two vehicles which carry the police officers. The department added that no one got injured from the attack.

“The case is being handled by the European Union Rule of Law Mission in Kosovo (EULEX) in cooperation with the Kosovo police,” she added.

The Supplementary Police Unit (SPU) is a branch of the European Union Rule of Law Mission in Kosovo (EULEX) police which was established by the Executive Division of EU (ED).

The EULEX Police, including SPU investigates organised crimes and corruption in higher levels. The ED generally helps Kosovo administration to cooperate with international police and judicial authorities.

The ED is focused on providing the stability in Kosovo and “restoring the Rule of Law in the north of Kosovo.” ED also provides a dialogue between Kosovo and Serbia.

Kosovo and Serbia came to an agreement on Integrated Border Management (IBM) to create two new border crossings, however it is only an agreement at the moment as there has been no action taken towards implementation.

Previously, Serbian representatives withdrew from the Kosovan parliament following a series of incidents, including Serb Kosovo Minister Aleksandar Jablanovic being sacked, some companies in Kosovo being slated for privatisation and claims that the coalition agreement is not being fulfilled.

However, two months later the Serbian representatives returned to the Kosovo Parliament, ending the boycott after being assured that the coalition agreement will be respected.

The coalition agreement - which includes amendments to post-war privatisations, consideration of the formation of a semi-autonomous Association of Serbian Municipalities, and the return of Kosovo Serb refugees - was signed in December 2014.

TRTWorld and agencies