EU to scrap roaming charges by mid-2017

European Parliament agrees to end roaming charges across 28 member countries

Photo by: Reuters
Photo by: Reuters

Updated Jul 28, 2015

The European Union reached an agreement on Tuesday banning telecom operators from charging roaming fees to EU citizens traveling within countries belonging to the 28-member bloc.

“Under the agreement, roaming surcharges in the European Union will be abolished as of 15 June 2017,” Latvia, which holds the rotating EU presidency, said in a statement.  

Starting from April 30, 2016, firms operating in EU countries will only be able to charge an extra €0.05 per minute for each call, €0.02 for each text message sent, and €0.05 for megabyte of data.

According to EU-wide open internet rules, operators have to treat all internet traffic equally.

However, operators may block or throttle internet access to counter a cyberattack or ease intense traffic. They also have the right to implement a “fair use policy” to prevent abuse use of roaming.

"This is a great success for the European Union and the Latvian presidency," said Anrijs Matiss, the Latvian Minister for Transport.

TRTWorld and agencies