G7 summit kicks off upholding Russia sanctions

G7 countries vow to maintain sanctions on Russia

Photo by: Reuters
Photo by: Reuters

Updated Jul 28, 2015

Leaders of the G7 countries - Canada, Germany, France, the United States, Italy, Japan and the United Kingdom - have voiced support to keep sanctions on Russia until a peace deal is implemented in eastern Ukraine.

The G7 summit of largest industrialised states called on Sunday on Russia to implement the Minsk agreements and respect for Ukraine’s sovereignty.

German Chancellor Angela Merkel said Moscow should be excluded out of the G7 group for now over its actions in Ukraine.

"There is a barrier at the moment and I can't really see how it can be overcome," Merkel told the German state television.

European Council President Donald Tusk urged the G7 group to take even a tougher stance on Russia.

"If anyone wants to start a discussion about changing the sanctions regime, it could only be about strengthening it," Tusk said.

In similar remarks, British Prime Minister David Cameron asked EU leaders to stay united on keeping Russia sanctions although they harm the bloc.

Meanwhile, the Greek debt crisis was among the issues covered at the G7 talks.

European Commission President Jean-Claude Juncker has ruled out a Greek exit from the euro currency but warned Greek Prime Minister Alexis Tsipras not to distort proposals by international creditors to save Athens from default.

The summit is expected to focus on global warming and terrorism on Monday.

TRTWorld and agencies