Burkina Faso names new prime minister

Burkina Faso's newly elected president Roch Marc Kabore names economist Paul Kaba Thieba as prime minister

Photo by: AFP
Photo by: AFP

Burkina Faso's new president Roch Marc Christian Kabore reviews a military honour guard following his swearing-in ceremony in Ouagadougou on December 29, 2015.

Burkina Faso's president named economist Paul Kaba Thieba as prime minister on Thursday, a week after being sworn in as the country's first new leader in almost three decades following his election in November.

Thieba, who has little political experience, is charged with forming President Roch Marc Kabore's government as the country continues with a democratic transition after 27 years under leader Blaise Compaore, who was overthrown in October 2014. 

Roch Marc Kabore was sworn in December 2015 as president of Burkina Faso - the counrty’s first leader in almost three decades to come to power in democratic elections.

Kabore, who was the candidate of People's Movement for Progress, was elected on November 29 this year, receiving 53 percent of the vote in the first round.

Burkina Faso was ruled for 27 years by Blaise Compaore. In October 2014 Compaore was forced to resign by a huge nationwide uprising when he sought to change the constitution to stay in power for longer.

After the succesful uprising against Compaore, a transitional government led by interim President Michel Kafando governed Burkina Faso in order to organise the country's first free democratic elections in almost three decades.

TRTWorld, Reuters