South Sudan's parties agree to power sharing in cabinet

South Sudan's divided political parties agree to form transitional government

Photo by: AFP
Photo by: AFP

Sudanese Foreign Minister Ibrahim Ghandour (top, 3rd from L) and his South Sudanese counterpart Barnaba Benjamin (bottom, 3rd from L) attend a meeting on relations between their two countries on January 3, 2016.

Updated Jan 8, 2016

Joint Monitoring and Evaluation Commission (JMEC) of the Peace Agreement on South Sudan said on Thursday South Sudan's warring parties agreed to share cabinet slots in a transitional government of national unity.

The transitional government would be created for a period of 30 months followed by an election to reach a sustainable peace process.

The first general elections since the country gained independence from Sudan were scheduled to be held on July 9, 2015 but an unsuccessful coup attempt postponed the elections until July 9, 2018.

Chairman of the JMEC and former President of Botswana, Festus Mogae, said the government of the Republic of South Sudan under Salva Kiir will nominate 16 ministers for the 30 ministries, which includes National Security, Finance and Planning as well as Justice and Constitutional Affairs.

Mogae did not give more information about finalisation of the appointments.

The Sudan People's Liberation Movement/In Opposition (SPLM/IO) under Riek Machar leadership will nominate 10 ministers to Petroleum, Interior as well as Energy and Dams.

The SPLM (Former Detainees) under Pagan Amum will nominate two ministers, Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation and Transport.

The Political Parties will nominate two ministers for Cabinet Affairs and Agriculture and Food Security.

President Salva Kiir and his rival, former Vice President Riek Machar signed an agreement in August 2015 that calls for an end to the ethnic-based civil war that started in December 15, 2013, which caused thousand of peoples lives and drove at least two million people to flee from their homes.

TRTWorld and agencies