Sudan’s Bashir forms government

Sudanese President Omar Hassan al-Bashir forms new government after gaining victory in April elections

Photo by: Reuters
Photo by: Reuters

Updated Jul 28, 2015

A month after winning Sudan’s elections, Sudanese President Omar Hassan al-Bashir has formed a new government despite main opposition parties having boycotted the elections.

The new government will have 31 cabinet members. The positions of oil minister, defence minister and foreign minister have been assigned to Mohamed Zayed, Mustafa Obeid and Ibrahim Ghandour respectively. 

Sudan’s eighteen states have also been appointed new governors by President Bashir, who describes the situation as a “new page” for his country.

"I will be president to all Sudanese people, whether they voted for me or they boycotted these elections," Al-Bashir said, after taking his Presidential oath at the national parliament in Omdurman.

Al-Bashir won around 5.3 million votes, while his closest rival - Fadl Shoaib of the Federal Truth Party won only 1.4 percent of the vote, according to figures announced by Mukhtar al-Assam - the head of Sudan's National Election Commission.

“The 71-year-old career soldier took the oath at the national assembly in Khartoum's twin city of Omdurman in front of members of parliament, military chiefs and foreign leaders and representatives,” an AFP correspondent said.

Al-Bashir said on Tuesday he was open to dialogue with Western nations, in an unusually conciliatory message from a leader whose country has suffered from years of economic sanctions.

"Sudan will seek, God willing, and with an open heart, to continue dialogue with Western countries in order for relations to return to normal," Bashir said in his speech to parliament, after being sworn in for a new term in office.

TRTWorld and agencies