Croatian cyclist Durasek wins Tour of Turkey

Kristijan Durasek wins 51st Presidential Cycling Tour of Turkey, Spanish cyclist Luis Mas Bonet claims final stage win.

Updated Jul 28, 2015

Croatian cyclist Kristijan Durasek, racing for Lampre-Merida, has won the 51st Presidential Cycling Tour of Turkey on Sunday.

Spanish cyclist Luis Guillermo Mas Bonet of the Caja Rural – Seguros RGA team claimed victory in the eighth and final stage of the tour held in Istanbul.

British cyclist Mark Cavendish, who already has three stage wins in this year's Tour of Turkey for the Etixx-Quick-Step team, finished second. Spanish racer Carlos Barbero Cuesta of the Caja Rural – Seguros RGA team came in third.

The 124-kilometer stage started at the Sultanahmet Square in the historic peninsula at 10:00 a.m. local time (0700 GMT). The cyclists returned to the same area for the finish after going through Karakoy, Kabatas and Dolmabahce districts. They also crossed the Bosporus Bridge, which connects Europe and Asia. 

Last year, British cyclist Adam Yates had won the 50th Presidential Cycling Tour of Turkey.

During this year's tour, Italian cyclist Davide Rebellin won the third stage, while German cyclist Andre Greipel claimed the fourth. Italian cyclist Sacha Modolo was victorious in the fifth and Spanish cyclist Pello Bilbao won the sixth.