Galatasaray clinch 20th Turkish Super League title

Turkey’s football giant Galatasaray, known as Lions, clinch their 20th title in Turkish Spor Toto Super League with match to spare ahead of end of season

Photo by: AA
Photo by: AA

Updated Jul 28, 2015

The Istanbul-based Turkish team Galatasaray AS have won their 20th league title, becoming the first Turkish first division side to achieve the mark as the biggest rival Fenerbahce have surrendered after suffering a 2-2 draw against Istanbul Basaksehir team on Monday.

With one game to spare, Galatasaray are five points clear, and will directly participate in the UEFA Champions League, while runner-up Fenerbahce will play qualification rounds.

As the final whistle that sealed Galatasaray’s championship was blown, Fenerbahce were scarred, down to seven men on the pitch.

As the Spor Toto Super League comes to a close next week, leader Galatasaray have 76 points in standings, and Fenerbahce are in second place with 71.

Galatasaray is the most successful team in Turkey as the team had won 20 league titles as well as one UEFA Cup and one UEFA Super Cup in 2000.


TRTWorld and agencies