Sevilla crowned as UEFA Europa League winners

Spanish club Sevilla win Europa League title two years in row, for fourth time in history

Photo by: Reuters
Photo by: Reuters

Updated Jul 28, 2015

Spanish team Sevilla won the UEFA Europa League title after beating Ukrainian club Dnipro 3-2 in the final at National Stadium Warsaw in Poland on Wednesday.

Dnipro scored an early goal as Croatian striker Nikola Kalinic found the net with a header after 7 minutes, 1-0.

In 28th minute Sevilla equalised when Polish midfielder Grzegorz Krychowiak scored from within the penalty box, 1-1.

Three minutes later Sevilla made a comeback when Colombian striker Carlos Bacca finished after receiving a deadly through ball, 1-2. However Dnipro's Ruslan Rotan hit the target from free-kick in 44th minute, 2-2.

Bacca made it three after 73 minutes of the match. Dnipro defence failed to remove the danger, Sevilla striker Bacca finished in one on one, 3-2.

The 2006, 2007 and 2014 champions Sevilla won the Europa League title once again thus they are now the most time winners of the Europa League.

Four-time Europa League winner Sevilla has also automatically qualified for the 2015-16 UEFA Champions League.