AK Party deputy becomes Turkey's new parliament speaker

Turkish Parliament elects lawmaker Ismail Kahraman, governing AK Party’s candidate, as Turkey’s new speaker of parliament

Photo by: AA
Photo by: AA

AK Party deputy Ismail Kahraman poses with Turkish Prime Minister Ahmet Davutoglu after he was elected as Turkey's new parliamentary speaker at the Turkish Grand National Assembly in Ankara, Turkey on November 22, 2015

Updated Feb 17, 2016

Istanbul deputy Ismail Kahraman, governing Justice and Development Party (AK Party) candidate, was elected on Sunday as Turkey’s new speaker of parliament -the second highest position in the Turkish state- after receiving 316 votes in the third round of elections.

In the first two rounds of voting, which are conducted through a secret ballot, candidates need to gain 367 votes from a total of 550 deputies to be elected as the speaker.

Since no candidate had obtained this number in the first two ballots, a third round, in which a minimum of 276 votes is needed, took place in the Grand National Assembly on Sunday.

After his victory, Kahraman said “We will conduct the legislative and supervisory efforts in line with the constitution, regulation and bylaws in full objectivity”

“I believe our lawmakers and parties will display the required sensitivity to enable effective efforts by parliament and to protect its dignity. That’s what our nation expects from us,” he added.

Ismail Kahraman previously worked at the Labor and Culture ministries as an undersecretary and minister respectively.

General view of the Turkish Grand National Assembly during the election for the speaker of parliament in Ankara, Turkey on November 22, 2015

According to the official results of Turkey’s 26th parliamentary elections, the AK Party won 317 deputies. The CHP came second with 134 deputies. The People’s Democratic Party (HDP) became the third largest party in parliament with 59 deputies and the MHP came last with 40 deputies.

Lawmakers Ayse Gulsun Bilgehan from the Republican People’s Party (CHP), Dengir Mir Mehmet Firat from the Peoples' Democratic Party (HDP) and Yusuf Halacoglu from the Nationalist Movement Party (MHP) were among the other candidates.

TRTWorld and agencies