Turkey to form new parliamentary speakership council

Political parties decide to form new parliamentary speakership council with 18 members

Photo by: AA
Photo by: AA

Updated Jul 28, 2015

Turkey’s 25th parliament approved a resolution mandating the formation of a speakership council with 18 deputies on Wednesday.

Presided over by Speaker of Parliament Ismet Yilmaz, Turkish Grand National Assembly decided to raise the number of members in the council to 18 from 15.

According to parliamentary regulations, the council consisted of 15 members but the number can be changed if the political parties in parliament agree to this.

The governing Justice and Development Party (AK Party) will now have eight members in the council, while the Republican People's Party (CHP) will have four members. Both the Nationalist Movement Party (MHP) and the pro-Kurdish Peoples' Democratic Party (HDP) will each have three members.

In the current parliament, all four parties have the right to appoint one deputy chairman to the council.

In addition to this, the AK Party will have four secretary members and two administrators while the CHP will have two secretary members and one administrator in the council.

The MHP and HDP will each have one secretary member and one administrator in the council.

Now that the presidential council has been formed, AK Party leader Ahmet Davutoglu is expected to receive a mandate from President Recep Tayyip Erdogan to form a government, starting a 45-day long period of intense coalition negotiations.

Turkish President Erdogan said on Tuesday that he will demand the formation of a government after the parties in parliament determine the members of the council.

"Then the process of forming a government will start," Erdogan added.

If a coalition government cannot be formed within 45 days, the president will call for early elections and appoint a prime minister within five days to form an interim government consisting of representatives from all four parties in accordance with their number of deputies.

Once this interim government is approved by a parliamentary vote of confidence, the assembly will be dissolved and the entire election process will start over.

TRTWorld and agencies