Turkey's President Erdogan approves new cabinet

Turkish President Erdogan approves 64th cabinet, as Prime Minister Davutoglu announces new ministers

Photo by: AA (Archive)
Photo by: AA (Archive)

Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan approves new cabinet on 24 November, 2015.

Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan on Tuesday approved the 64th government formed by Prime Minister and leader of the Justice and Development Party (AK Party), Ahmet Davutoglu.

Following the President’s approval, Davutoglu announced the names of the new ministers for the 64th cabinet as follows:

Prime Minister - Ahmet Davutoglu

Deputy Prime Minister - Numan Kurtulmus

Deputy Prime Minister - Mehmet Simsek

Deputy Prime Minister - Yalcin Akdogan

Deputy Prime Minister - Tugrul Turkes

Deputy Prime Minister - Lutfi Elvan

Minister of Internal Affairs  - Efkan Ala

Minister of Foreign Affairs  - Mevlut Cavusoglu

Minister of Justice  - Bekir Bozdag

Minister of European Union  - Volkan Bozkir

Minister of Economy - Mustafa Elitas

Minister of Finance  - Naci Agbal

Minister of Development  - Cevdet Yilmaz

Minister of Customs and Trade  - Bulent Tufekci

Minister of Family and Social Policies - Sema Ramazanoglu

Minister of Science, Industry and Technology  - Fikri Isik

Minister of Labour and Social Security  - Suleyman Soylu

Minister of Environment and Urban Planning  - Fatma Guldemet Sari

Minister of Energy and Natural Resources - Berat Albayrak

Minister of Youth and Sports - Akif Cagatay Kilic

Minister of Food and Agriculture - Faruk Celik

Minister of Culture and Tourism  - Mahir Unal

Minister of National Education  - Nabi Avci

Minister of National Defence - İsmet Yilmaz

Minister of Forest and Water Management - Veysel Eroglu

Minister of Health - Mehmet Muezzinoglu

Minister of Transportation, Seafaring and Communication - Binali Yildirim

Erdogan gave mandate to Davutoglu

President Erdogan had authorized Davutoglu to form the government on Nov. 17. 

According to the official results of Turkey’s 26th parliamentary elections, the AK Party had won 317 deputies. 

Five hundred and fifty five lawmakers were elected into parliament during the snap election, which was held on Nov. 1 after coalition talks failed and a government could not be formed following the June 7 election. 

TRTWorld and agencies