Turkish PM announces new ministers of interim government

Turkish PM Davutoglu announces new ministers of interim government ahead of early election following meeting with President Erdogan

Turkish Prime Minister and head of the governing Justice and Development Party (AK Party) Ahmet Davutoglu held a press conference on Friday in the Turkish capital Ankara to announce the new ministers of an interim government expected to lead the country to an early election.

Yalcin Akdogan and Numan Kurtulmus kept their positions as Deputy Prime Minister. 

Former Minister of Development Cevdet Yilmaz and Nationalist Movement Party (MHP) deputy Tugrul Turkes were also announced as Deputy Prime Ministers in the interim government.

Davutoglu declared Feridun Sinirlioglu as foreign minister, Selami Altinok as interior minister, Nihat Zeybekci as economy minister, Vecdi Gonul as defence minister, and Peoples' Democratic Party (HDP) deputy Ali Haydar Konca as European Union minister.

Deputy Prime Minister Akdogan spoke to the press following Davutoglu's announcement, saying “we will work not as an interim government, but as a four-year-long government with the best performance.”

“This is not a government containing deputies from a specific party. This government was formed by the virtue of deputies one by one discharging their responsibilities,” Akdogan added.

First offers to opposition parties

Davutoglu sent the offers of the ministries for a temporary government to the deputies of the opposition parties on Wednesday in regard to the voting rages.

According to electoral law, the Republican People’s Party (CHP) was offered five ministries, while three ministries were proposed to the MHP as well as to the HDP.

Two deputies of the MHP, Meral Aksener and Kenan Tanrikulu, refused the ministry's offer from the Turkish Prime Minister Ahmet Davutoglu, as well as all the CHP deputies and the HDP deputy Levent Tuzel.

Tugrul Turkes was the only MHP deputy who accepted the offer, while the other HDP deputies Ali Haydar Koca and Muslum Dogan also accepted.

New Ministers

Deputy Prime Minister Yalcin Akdogan
Deputy Prime Minister Numan Kurtulmus
Deputy Prime Minister Cevdet Yilmaz
Deputy Prime Minister Tugrul Turkes

Minister of Justice

Kenan Ipekci
Minister of National Defense Vecdi Gonul
Minister of Culture and Tourism Yalcin Topcu
Minister of Interior Selami Altinok
Minister of Foreign Affairs Feridun Sinirlioglu
Minister of Energy and Natural Resources Ali Riza Alaboyu
Minister of Finance Mehmet Simsek
Minister of National Education Nabi Avci
Minister of Health Mehmet Muezzinoglu
Minister of Transportation, Maritime and Communication Feridun Bilgin
Minister of Labour and Social Security Ahmet Erdem
Minister of Foresty and Water Veysel Eroglu
Minister of Food, Agriculture and Livestock Kutbettin Arzu
Minister of Development Muslum Dogan
Minister of Customs and Commerce Cenap Asci
Minister of Family and Social Politics Aysen Gurcan
Minister of European Union Ali Haydar Konca
Minister of Science, Industry and Technology Fikri Isik
Minister of Economy Nihat Zeybekci
Minister of Youth and Sports Akif Cagatay Kilic
Minister of Environment and City Planning Idris Gulluce